loader image
SSPC shortlisted for The Irish Laboratory Awards 2019
February 13, 2019

The Irish Laboratory Awards 2019 will take place Thursday, March 7, at the Ballsbridge Hotel, Dublin and among those shorlisted are Dr. Luis Padrela, lecturer in the Department of Chemical Sciences and SSPC Funded Investigator at the University of Limerick, under the categories Laboratory Scientist of the Year and Laboratory Staff Member of the Year. In addition, the ProSpect Facility at ABCRF, University of Cork has been shortlisted under Research Laboratory of the Year.

Luis has worked on different research projects in different institutions (academia and industry) and countries (Ireland, Portugal and Sweden) focusing on Biopharmaceutical and Pharmaceutical Particle Engineering, Nanotechnologies and Continuous Manufacturing. He has developed industrial expertise in Quality by Design, scale-up methods and particle engineering technologies for small and large molecule APIs with particular emphasis to spray drying of monoclonal antibodies. He has worked within the highest standards of quality in the pharma industry (GLP, GMP).

Also pictured above is Dr Lorraine Bateman, Lecturer in Pharmaceutical Chemistry / NMR Spectroscopist, University College Cork, manager of the ProSpect Research Facility located in the ABCRF, Cavanagh Pharmacy Building, UCC, operates within the SSPC and provides academic researchers and the pharmaceutical industry with a platform for enhancing their understanding of chemical transformations and pharmaceutical processes – where improvements can lead to yield enhancements, shorter reaction times and reduced costs for the manufacturer.

More information: https://www.ucc.ie/en/abcrf/services/prospect/

Share This:

Recent News