loader image
Declan Gilheany receives ICI Annual Award for Chemistry 2020
April 28, 2021

The researcher from University College Dublin School of Chemistry was named a recipient of the ICI award in recognition of his significant contribution to the advancement of chemistry.

An author of more than 92 original research articles, reviews & patents in the area of organic synthesis, catalysis and phosphorus chemistry, Professor Gilheany has supervised 36 PhDs/10 PDRAs to date and has been an investigator with SSPC over ten years.

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Annual Award for Chemistry was inaugurated in 2005. Since 2007, the lectures are termed the Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series. The late Professor Eva Philbin was formerly Head of the Chemistry Department in University College Dublin and also a former President of the Institute of Chemistry of Ireland. The award is for a practising chemist, who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of chemistry and has considerably raised the profile of chemistry through both the excellence of their work and their ability to communicate in an effective and lucid manner.

Share This:

Recent News